Morocco, officially the Kingdom of Morocco, is a country in the Northern part of Africa. It is bordered by Algeria to its east, Western Sahara to its south, and to its North are Spain, the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. The capital of Morocco is Rabat, but its largest city is Casablanca. Morocco became an independent country in March 1956.

During colonial times, Morocco had been a divided country. In 1904, France and Spain divided Morocco into two protectorates, with France receiving the greater half. Several revolts were organised against colonial rule in the country, but were unsuccessful. However, following France’s defeat to Germany in World War Two, motivation for independence emerged. Leadership for the liberation movement was provided by the Istiqlal Party. After several negotiations, France and Spain gave up their protectorates in March and April 1956.

Morocco practices a constitutional monarchy. The king is the head of state and the commander of the armed forces. He appoints the prime minister and the cabinet.  The country’s constitution also allows for a parliament, a judiciary and local governments.

Economically, Morocco’s economy is largely liberal. With a GDP of $110.7 billion in 2016, Morocco is Africa’s 5th largest economy. Agriculture is one of the most important economic activities in Morocco. Other key sectors include tourism, aerospace and textiles.

Morocco has a population of 35 million. Much of its populations are majorly Arabs and Berbers. Islam is the major religion in the country. But Arabic, Berber and French are widely spoken in Morocco. Morocco is located at the crossroads of several worlds: African, Mediterranean, Christian, and Islamic. The country’s location has helped it forge a unique culture for itself.